Meeting you in the Middle

I am trying to meet you in the middle, but the problem is that you didn’t know there was a middle because you didn’t think I was far from you at all. You just automatically assumed a whole host of similarities and shared values between us that simply don’t exist.

When people meet someone new, many of them automatically start spewing their values, priorities, and worldviews, looking for similarities to latch on to. In the beginning when I affirm certain shared values the expectation begins to grow that all of our inner feelings match up, which is just not the case.

Every culture has their version of the golden rule, and similarly values charity, hard work etc. However, core values quickly diverge, especially depending on their foundations. Not everyone believes the same things, nor do they place value on the same things in the same way. Most people in the world prefer to build relationships with those of like mind, and separate themselves from those who aren’t.

I was endowed with a strong sense of my identity, and by extension my core values are just as strong. I’m secure enough to share those values, and they’re strong enough to withstand scrutiny as they are.

I’m happy to meet you in the middle, as long as you’re willing to re-assess where that is. When you think the middle is right by your side, it’s time to take a look at how small your world really is. You’re living between 1 and 4 on a scale of 1-10. Thinking 2 is in the middle is the product of a sheltered upbringing, or a refusal to acknowledge where you stand.

Sometimes it’s comical to me how narrow people’s focus can be. I’m not just talking about how I like more taxes, or how I want to apply them to churches. I’m talking about how my preference would be to ban all forms of plastic (except medical needs), cease new land development and regulate urban density. I believe in controlled breeding programs; licensing and certification for childbearing. I’d like to see widespread government subsidized housing and mandatory voting. I want a heavily controlled commodities market, and a complete end to corporate welfare.

When I say I’m meeting you in the middle, it can be pretty far away after all. It’s not that I don’t see where you’re coming from, it’s that there’s still a long way to go.

 

Leave a Reply

