What I’m Not

I was not put on this earth to constantly validate or reassure you.

I am not a supporting character in the story of your life.

I am not a backup for when you run out of friends you admire and appreciate.

I am not the one you rely on for your struggles if I can’t rely on you in mine (at least once in a while!).

I am not who you think I am.

I am not here to pad your numbers.

I was not put here to make you look better by comparison.

I am not the audience in your show.

I am not here to receive what you issue.

I am not your scapegoat, excuse or pawn.

I am not your yes-man, back-up singer, or brown-noser.

I am not ancillary, secondary, or inferior in any way.

I am not your parent, guardian, or keeper.

I am not yours.

Leave a Reply

