My race, gender, size and style are so mixed up…

I have never been considered feminine enough

Certainly not brown enough

Not quite white enough either

Never been thin, quiet, forgiving, or flexible enough
I have always been too insistent, too volatile…  too much
I know that many have their reasons for why I don’t seem to match up

But they don’t see that that makes me with nobody

Who are ‘we‘ when I am such a big mix of not quite anybody?

Who can I be that is me and still be part of we?

I come from the oppressed and the oppressor

My ancestors grew and changed

I know there can and will be one day

A place for us all at the table

Leave a Reply

